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Homestead exemptions provide a significant reduction in annual property taxes and are available to individuals 

who own and reside in a home in DeKalb County.  In order to be eligible for the exemption the following 

requirements must be met:   

• The property must be the legal residence for all purposes (including the filing of Federal and State income taxes, 

registering any owned or leased vehicles, registering to vote, etc.) on January 1
st

 

• Only private residences are eligible for homestead exemption – rental property, vacant land and commercial 

entities are not eligible 

• Owners of multiple properties are allowed only one homestead exemption – at their primary residence 

• Married couples are considered as one entity by state law, and are entitled to a single exemption regardless of 

living arrangements 

• Application must be completed by owner of property – exemptions are not automatically granted 

• Application must be received by April 1
st

 deadline – if received after deadline, it is processed for the following 

year 

 

Homestead exemptions are not transferable, and must be reapplied for at the new home.  Basic homestead 

applications may be processed by mail, in person, or online at www.dekalbcountyga.gov/taxcommissioner .  

Applicant(s) for senior or disability exemptions must apply in person and present copies of the previous 

year’s Federal and State income tax returns, any Social Security Form 1099s, proof of age, and/or proof of 

100% total and permanent disability.  Once an exemption has been granted, it remains in place as long as the 

applicant continues to reside on the property.  A Property Assessment Freeze is applied to all properties 

granted homestead exemption for County assessments. 

 

H1 – Basic Homestead Exemption 

DeKalb homeowners receive an assessment exemption of $12,500 for school taxes and $10,000 for County 

levies (except bonds).  There are no age or income requirements.   

 

If you are 62 years of age or 100% Permanently Disabled you may be eligible for either – 

 

H3 – Senior or Disability Exemption  

This has a household income limit of $10,000 Georgia Net Income*.  Exempts the recipient(s) from all school 

taxes, and maintains the exemption of $10,000 for County levies (except bonds). 

   

H7 – Senior or Disability Exemption 

This has a household income limit of $16,000 Gross Income.  It reduces taxable value of property by $22,500 

for school taxes, and by $10,000 for County levies (except bonds).  

 

If you are 65 years of age or 100% Permanently Disabled you may be eligible for either – 

 

H4 – Senior Exemption 

This has a household income limit of $10,000 Georgia Net Income*.  This exempts the recipient(s) from all 

school taxes, and increases the exemption to $14,000 for all County levies. 

 

H6 – Senior or Disability Exemption 

This has a household income limit of $15,000 Georgia Net Income*.  It increases the exemption to $16,500 for 

school taxes and $14,000 for County levies.  

 

H8 – Senior Exemption 

This has a household income limit of $16,000 Gross Income.  It increases the exemption to $22,500 for school 

taxes and $14,000 for all County levies.   

 



If you are 70 years of age, you may be eligible for – 

 

H9 – Senior Exemption 

This has a household income limit of $84,115 Federal Adjusted Gross PLUS Municipal Bonds.  It exempts the 

applicant(s) from school taxes and maintains the exemption of $10,000 for County levies (except bonds).  

 

If you are a Disabled Veteran, you may be eligible for either - 

 

H5 –Veteran\Veteran Spousal Exemption 

There are no age or financial requirements for this exemption.  Provides an exemption of $72,965 for school 

levies and $70,465 for all other levies. Applicant must be an Honorably Discharged Veteran with either a 

service connected or non-service connected disability and must meet one of the following requirements: 
   1 – presentation of a Letter of Adjudication from the U. S. Department of Veterans Affairs stating that the 

         veteran is entitled to 100% service-connected disability; 

OR 

   2 – presentation of the veteran’s Honorable Discharge (DD214) and a doctor’s letter of certification attesting 

         that the veteran has one or more of the following conditions: 
 A – Loss or loss of use of both lower extremities, precluding locomotion without the use of braces,  

        crutches, canes or a wheelchair; 

 B – Blindness in both eyes, having only light perception, PLUS loss or loss of use of one extremity, 

                    which so affects the function of balance or propulsion so as to preclude locomotion without  

                    resorting to a wheelchair; 

 C – Loss or loss of use of one lower extremity TOGETHER WITH residuals of organic disease or injury 

                    which so affects the function of balance or propulsion so as to preclude locomotion without  

                    resorting to a wheelchair; 

 D – Loss or loss of use of one lower extremity TOGETHER WITH loss or loss of use of one upper 

                    extremity which so affects the function of balance or propulsion so as to preclude locomotion  

                    without the use of braces, crutches, canes or a wheelchair. 

NOTE:  This exemption may be transferred to, or applied for by, the un-remarried widow(er) of a disabled 

veteran or to the un-remarried surviving spouse of a US service member killed in action.  

 

H10 – Disabled Veterans Exemption 

Disabled veterans who have reached the age of 65 as of January 1 AND meet the requirements for the H5 

disabled veterans exemption (above) may be eligible.  There is a household income limit of $10,000 Georgia 

Net Income*.  It exempts the applicant from all school taxes, and provides exemption of $70,465 for all other 

levies.  This exemption may be transferred to, or applied for by, the un-remarried widow(er) of a disabled 

veteran or to the un-remarried surviving spouse of a US service member killed in action. 

 

 

If you are the un-remarried spouse of a Peace Officer or Firefighter killed in the line of duty – There is an 

exemption that provides an exemption for all ad valorem property taxes. This will not affect any special 

assessments assigned to the property (sanitation, stormwater, or streetlights, etc.). This exemption must be 

applied for in person. 

 

 

 

* The Georgia Net Income requirement used for determination of eligibility is a not a number found on income 

tax forms, but a formula provided by the Georgia Department of Revenue.  For 2015, up to $31,956 for an 

individual or $63,912 for joint applicants in Social Security and retirement benefits may be excluded when 

calculating Georgia Net Income. 


